mcdministries

Serving Jesus through discipleship

The Power of Prayer


I just received an email which included a picture of Jesus. I think the same picture is in every Catholic church in the nation. Anyway, the email said that something good would happen to me today. (I believe something good happens to me every day. I am blessed.)

All I had to do was sent the picture (and attached prayer) to 12 people. What struck me were the words immediately before the prayer, “This prayer is so powerful.” I thought, there is no more power in that prayer, or any other prayer, than what is in any writing or words. The power of prayer comes not from the prayer but from the One being prayed to. It is the relationship of the petitioner to the One being petitioned that gives prayer it’s power. You want powerful prayer? Establish a deep personal relationship with the God to whom you pray !

Jesus has this relationship with His Father. Anything, I mean ANYTHING that Jesus prays for He receives. Because He is God? Certainly! Because He is the Son of God? Absolutely! Because He has a relationship with the Father is why his prayers are answered.

You and I can have this same kind of relationship. John 1:12 tell us “But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, even to those who believe in His name.”

Forward an email if you wish. It may give some people some joy. To others it may be an annoyance. To still others, it may cause them to stop and think (like it did me).  It would be more profitable to become a disciple of Jesus Christ and become a child of God. As for the “good things” that will happen to you if you forward those emails:

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Matt 6:33

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Power of Prayer

  1. While I fully agree with you about the power of prayer comes from the one we are praying to. Jesus said one time while casing out an demon that “this kinds only come out by prayer and fasting.”

    I was wondering if you might be able to comment on the idea that when we fast does it add a power booster to our prayer.

Leave a Reply

