mcdministries

Serving Jesus through discipleship

What is a Christian?


Today I was talking with my friend Sonny (we talk a lot). He asked me a question I couldn’t answer immediately. The question is “What is a mature Christian?” I gave the answer that a mature Christian is a person that , when you look at their daily life, you see the image of Christ. (That worked when I was in Catholic grammar school.) Then he asked, “Using your definition, do you know anyone that is a mature Christian?” I had to admit that I didn’t and that I wasn’t likely to meet one soon.

I then asked him what his definition was, his response was from 1 Timothy 3. By this definition a mature Christian is above reproach, faithful to his wife, temperate, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable, able to teach, not given to drunkenness, not violent but gentle, not quarrelsome, not a lover of money. He must manage his own family well and see that his children obey him, and he must do so in a manner worthy of full
respect. After thinking about this for a couple of minutes i came to the conclusion that those qualities, while admirable, are not necessarily Christian qualities. So does that mean a mature Christian does not even have to be a Christian?

That then leads me to the question for today, “What is a Christian?” We need to define what a Christian is before we can determine what a mature Christian looks like. What are your thoughts?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “What is a Christian?

  1. Paul Haber on said:

    Many of us profess to be Christians, but give little thought to what that entails. Good question, Larry!
    In my view, several things are necessary (and I certainly don’t claim to be the “poster boy” for what a Christian is supposed to be!) .
    First, of course, we must accept and claim Jseus as our Lord . I believe that allows us to be saved. BUT- if we want to claim the “status” of a Christian, we need to do more. We need to constantly strive to learn and follow God’s word and the example of Jesus.
    No, it’s not a got-to-in-order-to-be- saved issue, but if we want to “qualify” as one who follows Christ, don’t you think we need to put some music to the words- some action to the claim?
    I do!

Leave a Reply

