mcdministries

Serving Jesus through discipleship

A Thought on Prayer


Most of us in our church or small group have a prayer chain or prayer list. Usually this prayer list contains the names of people that are sick or hurting. Typically, our prayer is that they would get better or that the situation that they are going through will be resolved according to our wishes. What about what God wishes?

We forget that they are in there situation because it is God’s will. Remember, nothing that happens is outside the will of God. The common question heard on earth is, “Why does God let bad things happen to good people?” The answer is, “I don’t know!”

What got me thinking on this is my reading of Numbers 23:19-20, “God is not a man, that He should lie, Nor a son of man, that He should repent; Has He said, and will He not do it? Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good? “Behold, I have received a command to bless; When He has blessed, then I cannot revoke it.” These are the words of Balaam to Balak when Balak wanted Balaam to curse Israel for him. We are a lot like Balak. We want what we want and give little thought to what God wants. We should remember that “God causes all things to work together for good to those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.”

When praying, know that God’s plan is more perfect than our wishes and that His result is for the ultimate good.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A Thought on Prayer

  1. carmen on said:

    ….”We should remember that “God causes all things to work together for good to those who love Him and are called according to His purpose….”??? For those who love him? …. I am a christian, I love him, what Am I not called for any purpose???? It seems that my love for him is not good enough, it does not matter how obedient or disciplined I am because things are not getting better…at least that’s what he makes me thinks when, you pray, pray and pray, and still nothing gets better nothing changes, you still can’t find a job..can’t pay the rent, struggling, is almost like HE does not care!!!!!!!! and every time you come close to christian website, TV Chanel or even a church the first thing they want is money, donations, the 10%….. Where is the Bible does it say that ministries have to be always begging four our 10%???? We are supposed to give it freely out of our own will because GOD says so, not becausing some ministry or pastor wants to make us feel guilty!!!

    • My first thought was to quote additional scripture. You know what? That won’t solve the problem. I am sorry you are hurting right now. I can’t do anything to help relieve the stress of your situation. I know it is not easy. I know it is scary. I know that your faith is being tested.
      What I can do is pray for you. And I will.
      Lord God, You know what Carmen is going through. You have the resources to solve her problem. You also know why Carmen is going through this time of trial. Let Carmen know that you are there and if it is your will, ease the suffering and let Your name be glorified.

Leave a Reply

