mcdministries

Serving Jesus through discipleship

God or Puppet


I have recently become affiliated with a church that may be a little more charismatic than I am used to. One of the things to indicate that is that they have a healing ministry. A couple of weeks ago, I was at a life group meeting where a member had just had surgery. Of course we prayed for that member and of course we prayed for healing. There is nothing out of the ordinary about that; but during the prayer the group leader gave a command that the member should be healed. I had heard of that before and while I thought it was strange at the time it wasn’t unacceptable to my sensibilities. What got to me though is that after the prayer, the leader asked the member if during the prayer, he felt anything. He kept pressing the member trying to get him to admit that some healing took place.

That started me thinking. The illness that caused the surgery to be performed was obviously God’s will. And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. I can’t help but wonder what good God wants to work when he allows sickness and suffering to come into our lives. With that in mind, why do we always pray for healing when someone gets sick? It seems that we pray for the outcome that we want never considering the possible outcome that God planned. The perfect outcome! Shouldn’t we be seeking God’s will in all things? Sure we need to let our desires be known. I mean He knows them already. Why then should we pray? Maybe when we pray we should try to determine if what we are praying for aligns with God’s will. Maybe our prayers can tell us if we are heavenly minded or earthly minded. I wonder if our prayers would be different if we remembered Matthew 6:33 “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

That’s what I think. Am I wrong? What do you think?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “God or Puppet

  1. Paul Haber on said:

    I’ve often wondered the same thing–so, why do we continue to bombard the Lord with lists of the sick and dying? I realize WE want them healed, but is it God’s will? Hmm!

Leave a Reply

