mcdministries

Serving Jesus through discipleship

I Delight to Do Your Will


Русский: Скрижали Завета

Русский: Скрижали Завета (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We have been raised to gratify our desired. It is not so much that our parents have raised us this way, but the culture has inculcated this attitude through various media. We have accepted the taking of innocent life since the early nineteen-seventies. Our children are being taught that not only is it ok to engage in an act that God calls an abomination but that act is encouraged.

We live in a culture where the mention of God’s name is forbidden unless it is used as an imprecation. To follow God is to be laughed at and mocked. there is no discernible difference between God’s people and those who hate Him.

When we read Psalm 40, it is as if a foreign language is being spoken. The words sound so right but the concept is so strange!

“Sacrifice and meal offering You have not desired;
My ears You have opened;
Burnt offering and sin offering You have not required.
Then I said, “Behold, I come;
In the scroll of the book it is written of me.
I delight to do Your will, O my God;
Your Law is within my heart.”
I have proclaimed glad tidings of righteousness in the great congregation;
Behold, I will not restrain my lips,
O Lord, You know.
I have not hidden Your righteousness within my heart;
I have spoken of Your faithfulness and Your salvation;
I have not concealed Your lovingkindness and Your truth from the great congregation.”

I lament that our culture is antithetical to God. It pains me when I realize that the words of the Psalmist are so strange to my ears.

Forgive me O Lord, let my soul be healed and let your Law reside within my heart. Let me take pleasure in You! Let me not hide Your righteousness, but proclaim Your faithfulness and Your salvation.

Who will join me in Glorifying our God?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I Delight to Do Your Will

  1. Paul Haber on said:

    I gotta throw in an AMEN!

Leave a Reply

