mcdministries

Serving Jesus through discipleship

Sing A New Song


A modern Western worship team leading a contem...

A modern Western worship team leading a contemporary worship session. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“O sing to the LORD a new song,”

I read these words of the Psalmist and wonder. What kind of song would be new that my God would desire?

My God desires my worship! While many congregations use the term worship and songs interchangeably, singing is not necessarily worship. So, what is worship?

The short version is that worship is the bestowing of praise (including song), honor (how do you honor the maker of everything) and glory that is due. So, God wants praise, honor and glory? Yes! And again I say Yes! But to give God the praise honor and glory that is due Him would be a full time job! I am talking about a job that is not eight hours a day, but one that is twenty-four hours a day; seven days a week; fifty-two weeks a year! I can’t do that!

So I need to come up with a song that I can sing constantly. Something new… I know, a life dedicated to Him. My life could be a song of praise, honor and glory. King David fell short of that goal. Jesus, fulfilled that goal. Jesus’ life gave God all praise, honor and glory.

So, then … should we all be like Jesus?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

