mcdministries

Serving Jesus through discipleship

The Dark Side of Sin


As Christians, we tend to focus on the positive aspects of our God. God is love, mercy, etc. We try not to think about hell and punishment, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t there! One of the ways that God warns about sin is through the Proverbs of Solomon. Our text for today is Proverbs 1:22 – 33:

English: Statue "Fear of the Lord" b...

English: Statue “Fear of the Lord” by Karin Jonzen at Guildford Cathedral (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How long, O naive ones, will you love being simple-minded?
And scoffers delight themselves in scoffing
And fools hate knowledge?
Turn to my reproof,

Behold, I will pour out my spirit on you;
I will make my words known to you.
“Because I called and you refused,
I stretched out my hand and no one paid attention;
And you neglected all my counsel
And did not want my reproof;
I will also laugh at your calamity;
I will mock when your dread comes,
When your dread comes like a storm
And your calamity comes like a whirlwind,
When distress and anguish come upon you.
“Then they will call on me, but I will not answer;
They will seek me diligently but they will not find me,
Because they hated knowledge
And did not choose the fear of the Lord.
“They would not accept my counsel,
They spurned all my reproof.
“So they shall eat of the fruit of their own way
And be satiated with their own devices.
“For the waywardness of the naive will kill them,
And the complacency of fools will destroy them.
“But he who listens to me shall live securely
And will be at ease from the dread of evil.”

As I read that passage, I think of America today. In verse 7 the proverb says that “Fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, fools despise wisdom and instruction.” I think that in America we are fools. We don’t fear the Lord! Many people declare that this doesn’t mean to be afraid of the Lord, but to respect Him. In light of this, I will say it again, “We don’t fear the Lord!”

We do all in our power to remove God from our lives. We have made it a policy that He is not allowed in our public institutions. Even a simple cross is not allowed on public land. As a nation we murder our children with impunity. Moral turpitude in rampant on the airwaves because we enjoy consuming it. Parents are discouraged from disciplining their children. Children do not respect their parents. The divorce rate is around 50%. (“What God has joined together, let no one put asunder.”) Homosexuality is encouraged in children as young as 10.

Yes, we love our sinful ways! We know that what we are doing is against God’s law, but we don’t care. Because we ignore God, we will suffer at His hand. Reread “I will laugh at your calamity; I will mock when your dread comes”. Really? Is God saying this to us? Notice also the passage “Then they will call on me, but I will not answer;
They will seek me diligently but they will not find me, because they hated knowledge and did not choose the fear of the Lord.” Is God really saying that when we need him most, He will not be there for us?

When the nation comes under judgment, when it cries out to God but God does not listen, the Christian can still hold on to the Lord Jesus as his strength. The grace and mercy of Jesus will get us through the time of tribulation if we truly fear Him! Are you ready for the coming judgement?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

